Home » Infrastructure » Linux » connect to linux
connect to linux [message #161459] Sat, 04 March 2006 12:08 Go to next message
new_developer
Hi,

I am new to this message board and new to Linux. Actually, what I am doing is connecting to an Oracle database through an SSH client. Now what I would like to do is my local copy of PLSQL Developer (on my windows XP laptop) to point to that Oracle databse on the Linux server with SSH and I have no idea where to begin. I was told to use port 1521 on SSH and point to my local host????

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
K
Re: connect to linux [message #161467 is a reply to message #161459] Sun, 05 March 2006 00:12 Go to previous messageGo to next message
orausern
You need to configure your tnsnames.ora file.

click on:start->program->oracle-orahome92(or some other)->configuration and migration tool->Net configuration assistant.

once this net config assistant window comes,choose Local Net Service Name Configuration (3rd radio button),click next.
Click on the "Add" button, click next,
Click on the "Oracle 8i or later" and click next,
Enter the name of the database in the next text box,click next,
select TCP,click next,
give host name of linux server(or -if not available then its ip address)
click on yes, perform test..and it should succeed. if it does not, try to change the login and check username and password.

this all is related to configuring your tnsnames.ora file.

Re: connect to linux [message #161485 is a reply to message #161467] Sun, 05 March 2006 07:09 Go to previous messageGo to next message
new_developer
Hi - thanks for the reply. I did set up my tnsnames.ora but I either get an ora-12170 or ora-12154.

Here is what I've got:
dbsname =
(DESCRIPTION =
(ADDRESS_LIST =
(ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)
(HOST = hostname)
(PORT = 1521))
)
(CONNECT_DATA =
(SID = dbsname)
(SERVER = DEDICATED)
)
)